Gilbert Won the First Stage

By road: the Belgian Philippe Gilbert won the champion’s Jersey the opening stage of this year’s Tour de France ahead of Cadel Evans and Thor Hushovd.

The stage ended up the Mont des Alouettes which suited the Belgian. In the same style as he dominated one earlier this year he got Saturday’s victory and his first yellow Jersey.

Fabian Cancellara opened up the offensive in case the hill with 600 meters remaining to the finish but a confident and calm Philippe Gilbert chased and caught up with the Swiss countered the attack. Edvald Boasson Hagen and Thor Hushovd tried to connect to the Belgian but they did not have a chance to close the gap. Instead put Cadel Evans up, but too late.

“It’s hard to understand what it is I do. Liege-Bastogne-Liege was a childhood dream and also it happened today. To win a stage on the tour and take the yellow Jersey – I have dreamed of it, “said Philippe Gilbert.

Tour de France-stage 1
1 Philippe Gilbert (Bel) Omega Pharma-Lotto, 4:41:31
2. Cadel Evans (Aus) BMC Racing Team + 0:03
3 Thor Hushovd (Nor) Team Garmin Cervelo + 0:06
4 Jose Joaquin Rojas Gil (Spa) Movistar Team
5 Jurgen Van Den Broeck (Bel) Omega Pharma-Lotto
6 Geraint Thomas (Stbr) Sky Procycling
7 Andreas Klöden (Tys) Team RadioShack
8 Rein Taaramae (Est) Cofidis
9 Christopher Horner (United States) Team RadioShack
10 Tony Martin (Tys) HTC-Highroad