Hushovd in Yellow

Road: Thor Hushovd and his team, Team Garmin-Cervelo, won on Sunday the 23-kilometer team tempo in Les Essarts with a four-second margin to second BMC Racing Team with Cadel Evans in the lead.

It was a long, nervous wait for Thor Hushovd after his team took over the lead on stage. Team after team that came to the goal turned out to be the battle of the U.S. team and when Sky Procycling thundered into the goal, distanced with four seconds, was one of the major threats are gone. Then came the Team Leopard-Trek led by Fabian Cancellara, but even those were four seconds late. In the end, remained only a threat for victory and the yellow Jersey, namely BMC Racing Team.

Cadel Evans kept pace with BMC Racing Team and when they turned into the home straight, had the watch knit to North’s favor. Cadel Evans and his team crossed the finish line, even the four seconds too late for stage victory and a second too late to Australian would have to pull on the yellow Jersey.

“This is a big day, we did a really good team effort. Everything worked perfectly, “said Thor Hushovd. Each skater gave 100 percent for the team. I am proud to wear the Rainbow Jersey in the Tour de France but to get run up yellow is amazing to me, continuing Thor.
Tour de France-stage 2
1 Team Garmin-Cervelo 24:48
2 BMC Racing Team + 0:04
3 Sky Procycling
4 Team Leopard-Trek
5 HTC-Higroad + 0:05
6 Team RadioShack + 0:10
7 Rabobank + 0:12
8 Saxo Bank-Sungard + 0:28
9 Pro Team Astana + 0:32
10 Omega Pharma-Lotto + 0:39
11 FDJ + 0:46
12 Team Europacar + 0:50
13 AG2R La Mondiale + 0:53
14 Quick Step + 0:56
15 Liquigas-Cannondale + 0:57
16 Saur-Sojasun + 1:02
17 Lampre-ISD + 1:04
18 Katusha
19 the Movistar Team + 1:09
20 Vacansoleil-DCM + 1:15
Cofidis 21 + 1:20
Euskaltel-Euskadi 22 + 1:22

A total of
1 Thor Husovd (Nor) Team Garmin-Cervelo 5:06:25
2 David Millar (Stbr) Team Garmin-Cervelo
3 Cadel Evans (Aus) BMC Racing Team + 0:01
4 Geraint Thomas (Stbr) Sky Procycling + 0:04
5 Linus Gerdemann (Tys) Team Leopard-Trek
6 Fränk Schleck (Lux) Team Leopard-Trek
7 Fabian Cancellara (Sch) Team Leopard-Trek
8 Boasson Hagen (Nor) Sky Procycling
9. Manuel Quinziato (Ita) BMC Racing Team
10 Andy Schleck (Lux) Team Leopard-Trek